Skip to Main Content

Exhibit Columbus 2021: New Middles15:26

Exhibit Columbus is a two-year exploration of architecture, art, design, and community that
activates the design legacy of Columbus, Indiana. It is a feature program of Landmark
Columbus Foundation, a non-profit organization dedicated to caring for, celebrating, and
advancing the cultural heritage of Columbus.

For the Fall 2021 Exhibition, co-curators Iker Gil and Mimi Zeiger invited exhibition
participants to create site-specific, future-oriented installations, which responded to the theme: New Middles: From Main Street to Megalopolis, What is the Future of the Middle City?

This 2020–2021 cycle of programming explores the future of the center of the United States and
the regions connected by the Mississippi Watershed. New Middles speculates on the heartland,
an ecology stretching beyond political borders—from North to South—from the Canadian Border
to the Gulf, and from East to West—from Appalachia to the plains. Embracing a long timeline of
cities past, present, and future, New Middles builds upon Columbus’ legacy as a laboratory for
design as civic investment. In a moment when we most need reflection, creativity, and
innovation to envision new ways of being, New Middles considers Columbus a place to
destabilize assumptions, and imagine new architectures and landscapes as a way to positively
move our cities forward.

Exhibit Columbus New Middles: From Main Street to Megalopolis, What is the Future of the
Middle City?

August 21 – November 28, 2021
2021 Exhibition powered by Cummins, Inc.


Iker Gil

Mimi Zeiger

Curatorial Fellowship Presenting Sponsor:
Efroymson Family Fund

J. Irwin and Xenia S. Miller Prize Recipients:
Dream the Combine
Ecosistema Urbano
Future Firm
Olalekan Jeyifous
Sam Jacob Studio

J. Irwin and Xenia S. Miller Prize Presenting Sponsor:

Heritage Fund—The Community Foundation
of Bartholomew County, through support from
a Lilly Endowment Inc. Giving Indiana Funds
for Tomorrow Grant

University Design Research Fellows:

Derek Hoeferlin, Washington University in St. Louis
Joyce Hwang, University at Buffalo
Jei Jeeyea Kim, Indiana University
Ersela Kripa and Stephen Mueller, Texas Tech University at El Paso

Ang Li, Northeastern University
Lola Sheppard and Mason White, University of Waterloo and University of Toronto
Natalie Yates, Ball State University

University Design Research Fellows Presenting Sponsor:
Columbus Area Visitors Center

High School Design Team:
Naricyn Andis, Bailey Barker, Isaac Carpenter, Brody Copas, Connor Deaton, Wyatt Frist, Owen
Hebert, Angie Hernandez, Team Leader Chase Jones, Miguel Martinez, Eshaan Mehta,
Grishma Pitkar, Adam Schwartz, Joshua Taylor

High School Build Team:

Alexander Arellano Ferrer, Ethan Clark, Cameron Crider, Rocco Duffy, Gavin Frankhauser,
Harley Gant, Andrew Krueger, Wesley Lack, Kai Linneweber, Juan Ruiz-Tapia, George Starks,
Eric Stavnheim, Jesse Williams, Instructor: Darin Johnson

High School Design Team Presenting Sponsor:

City of Columbus

Photography Fellows:
Virginia Hanusik

David Schalliol

Environmental Design and Wayfinding:
Jeremiah Chiu

Landmark Columbus Foundation:
Anne Surak, Director, Exhibit Columbus
Janice Shimizu, Associate Curator, Exhibit Columbus

Iker Gil, 2020–21 Exhibit Columbus Curator
Mimi Zeiger, 2020–21 Exhibit Columbus Curator
Bethany Ferril, Projects and Events Coordinator

Hadley Fruits, Photographer
Jamie Goldsborough, Communications Officer and Operations Coordinator
Elizabeth Kubany, Publicist

Richard McCoy, Executive Director
Ben Valentine, Development and Engagement Manager

Landmark Columbus Foundation Board of Directors:
Rick Johnson, Board President, President and CEO, Johnson Ventures, Inc.
Hutch Schumaker, Board Vice President, President, Coca-Cola Bottling Co.
Tracy Souza, Board Secretary President, and CEO, Heritage Fund—
The Community Foundation of Bartholomew County

Surekha DiOrio, Board Treasurer, Chief Financial Officer, Indiana Youth Services Association
and Director of Financial Services, Mission Management Services

Richard McCoy Executive Director, Landmark Columbus Foundation
Mark Elwood Chairman and CEO, Elwood Staffing

Crew Credits:

Creator and Executive Producer - Hernan Diaz Alonso
Producers - Marcelyn Gow/Reza Monahan
Director - Reza Monahan
Director of Photography/Sound Engineer - Brodie Kerst
B-Camera - Maika Shibata

Story Producers/Editors - Vivian Charlesworth/Reza Monahan
Sound Mixer - Edek Sher

Photographs Provided by Hadley Fruits

Special thanks to Brooke Kerst

Additional Photos and Video Provided by: Exhibit Columbus 2021

©2021 SCI-Arc Channel