Skip to Main Content

Shattered Glass11:39

Join Jeffrey Deitch Director, Melahn Frierson, and Arts Educator, AJ Girard, as they walk through and reflect on curating their exhibition “Shattered Glass”. The massive 40-person group exhibition features works by Fulton Leroy Washington (a.k.a. Mr. Wash), Kandis Williams, rafa esparza, Shaniqwa Jarvis and Raj Debah, among others. “Shattered Glass” presents empowered narratives that are often made marginalized and overdetermined structurally in art institutions and beyond. 

The title asserts the agency of Black and Brown artists that rises from the ruins of traditional figurative portraiture and related art contexts. Comprised mostly of younger artists, the exhibition champions community, accessibility, joy, and, of course, Los Angeles. 

Artists Included:
Chinas Agbor

Diana Yesenia

Mario Ayala
Tyler D. Ballon
The Perez Bros.
Ariel Dannielle

rafa esparza
Delfin Finley

Kohshin Finley
Alfonso Gonzalez Jr.
Bryant Giles
Lauren Halsey

Kezia Harrell
Jammie Holmes
Amani Lewis
Kenrick McFarlane
Murjoni Merriweather

Mario Moore

Jaime Muñoz
Simphiwe Ndzube

Bony Ramirez

Devin Reynolds
Gabriela Ruiz
Phumelele Tshabalala
Raelis Vasquez
Vincent Valdez

Fulton Leroy Washington (aka Mr. Wash)

Kandis Williams

Videos by:
Antoinette Brock

Daniel T. Gaitor-Lomack
Shaniqwa Jarvis and Raj Debah
Alima Lee
Elise Peterson

Clifford Prince King

Devin Troy Strother

dana washington-queen

Mandy Harris Williams

Rikkí Wright

Crew Credits -

Creator and Executive Producer - Hernan Diaz Alonso
Producers - Marcelyn Gow/Reza Monahan
Segment Producer/Interviewer - Perwana Nazif
Director - Reza Monahan
Director of Photography - Sean Morris
B Camera - Dillon Novak
C Camera - John Kiefer
Swing Tech - Mariana Curti
Sound Engineer - Joe McGill

Story Producer: Perwana Nazif
Editors - Cal Crawford/Reza Monahan

Additional Images and Video Provided by Jeffrey Deitch Gallery and the Artists

©2021 SCI-Arc Channel